[Online event] Ibero-American Dialogues on eco-social perspectives and practices

The academic journal  Iberoamérica Social is organizing the first edition of “Diálogos Iberoamericanos“, a virtual venue to learn about the work of researchers in social sciences. On this occasion, scholars from different countries will be speaking about socio-environmental conflicts in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Date: February 12, 2021.

Time: 14h Mexico / 17h Brazil / 21h Spain.

You can join and get more information about this event through Facebook and/or YouTube.

Presenter: Raul Olmedo (UNAM, Mex)

Discussant: Adriana P. Gómez Bonilla (UAM-Iztapalapa, Mex)

Panelists:

Socio-environmental conflicts in Latin America and the Caribbean: A regional analysis from a Political Ecology perspective, Marx José Gómez Liendo (IVIC, Ven).

Cerro de Pasco and the development paradox: Imagining a transition to post-extractivism for a territory dependant on extractivism, Flavio Vila Skrzypek (UCAL, Perú).

Effects of hydroelectric megaprojects on indigenous gastronomy. The case of the San Felipe Usila municipality, Oaxaca Mexico, Carolina Mejía Martínez (Mexico).

Social nature, social divides and social media: an insight into tourism development in Argentinean highlands, Yancen Diemberger (Univ. of Exeter, Eng).

The mass-media in the disputes about nature. A theoretical-methodological design for the study of socio-environmental conflict in digital newspaper sources, Maryhlda Victoria Rivero Corona (IVIC, Ven).

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s