Upcoming events this week in the Emotional Political Ecology Symposium:

Kia Ora koutou, hello to all of you! 

Thanks to all our panelists in the first day’s live session. We had a great discussion about how we can know emotions in our research. The recording is now up on the Panel 1 webpage. 

We have three more live events to finish up the symposium this week. Looking forward to seeing you there!

Wednesday 7 September, Live session for Panel 2: Care, commoning and restoration

(Wednesday 10am UTC, 6am NY, 11am Edinburgh, 3:30pm Bengaluru, 5pm Jakarta, 8pm Canberra, 10pm Auckland) 

Presenters: Maureen W. Kinyanjui, University of Edinburgh, UK Sony RK, Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment, Bangalore Karen Kinslow, University of Kentucky, Lexington Discussant: Sango Mahanty Chair: Sopheak Chann

Zoom lnk: https://massey.zoom.us/s/3350407554

Thursday 8 September: Postgrad Events!

8am UTC: Postgrad Workshop and Discussion, followed by 930am UTC postgrad discussion 

(Starting at 8AM UTC, 8PM Auckland, 10am Amsterdam, 6PM Canberra, 3PM Jakarta)

Calling all postgrads – Please join us! First, Professor Sango Mahanty and Dr. Lisa Trogisch will host an interactive workshop about empathy and other emotions in relation to research methodology. Come ready to share your reflections and challenges. This will be followed by an informal post-grad discussion, where postgrad researchers from different disciplines and countries can meet each other and discuss the multidimensional role of emotions in political ecology and socio-ecological research.

Zoom lnk: https://massey.zoom.us/s/3350407554

Friday 9 September: Live session for Panel 3: Emotional Political Ecology in Ruptured and Uncertain Worlds

(Friday 10am UTC, 6am NY, 11am Edinburgh, 3:30pm Bengaluru, 5pm Jakarta, 8pm Canberra, 10pm Auckland) 

Presenters: Anna Sturman and Blanche Verlie, University of Sydney, Noémi Gonda, Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences; and Andrea J. Nightingale,

University of Oslo, Sango Mahanty, Australian National University; and Sopheak Chann, Royal University of Phnom Penh; Discussant: Laura McKay; Chair: Alice Beban

Zoom link: https://massey.zoom.us/s/3350407554

All pre-recorded panel presentations are also open for viewing and discussion! All links are on our symposium website: https://perc.ac.nz/wordpress/emotional-ecologies/ 

Best wishes,

Alice 

On behalf of the symposium convenors (Alice Beban from Massey University, New Zealand; Sango Mahanty from ANU, Australia; Sopheak Chann from Royal University of Phnom Penh; Cambodia). This event is part of the POLLEN 22 series of online workshops.  

All are welcome – this event is free and open to all (no registration required to attend).

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s